The Junior League of Houston, Inc. Announces 2003 — 2004 Board of Directors

HOUSTON, TX (June 30, 2003) – The Junior League of Houston, Inc. is pleased to
announce the recent appointment of its new Board of Directors, who will serve during
2003 – 2004, the League’s 78th year.

Executive Committee Board members include: Mary Beth Staine, President, Ana
Schick, President-Elect, Heather Simpson, Community Vice President, Anita Gaylor,
Development Vice President, Mary Taussig, Financial Vice President, Merry Heyne,
Membership Vice President, and Daphne Bernicker, Recording Secretary.
Other Board members include: Mary Eliza Shaper, Community Initiatives Chair, Lisa
Ganucheau, Children’s Culture & Enrichment Chair, Jeannie Chandler, Children’s
Health & Education Chair, Elizabeth Bunk, Community Assistance Chair, Amy Butler,
Family Preservation Chair, Julie Comiskey, Health & Well-Being Chair, Kathleen
Panus, Neighborhood Outreach Chair, Melissa Garlington, Development Research
Chair, Holly Shilstone, Tea Room Chair, Anne Cowan, Financial Study Committee
Chair, Kelli Cravens, Special Projects Financial Study Chair, Michelle Herrera,
Communications Chair, Denis Mayfield, Long Range Planning Chair, and Kim Strange,
Sustaining Advisor.

The Junior League of Houston, Inc. is an organization of more than 4,800 women that
will donate over $1.5 million in volunteer time and direct financial support to the
community this year. The Junior League supports the community by committing
volunteers and financial support to more than 35 charitable programs including Harris
County Juvenile Probation Department, Houston Food Bank, Sheltering Arms Senior
Services, Star of Hope and SuperKids Mobile Pediatric Clinic.
Throughout its 78-year history it has worked to build a better community by supporting
Houston-area programs, publishing award-winning cookbooks and a children’s book, as
well as operating the Tea Room and hosting Charity Balls to generate funds.
For more information, visit the web site at or call